Passengers and drivers alike may suffer injuries during a car accident. As a passenger, you may not know what your rights are and how you may go about getting compensation for your injuries. You may be wondering if you are even protected by your own insurance policy. Don’t feel overwhelmed – let our firm help you make sense of the situation.
At the Law Offices of Tragos, Sartes & Tragos, our Clearwater car accident attorneys have helped many clients facing difficult injury cases. We understand that your situation as an injured passenger may be complex, and we are prepared to tackle the unique needs of your case. With more than 40 years of experience, our legal team has the knowledge and ability you may need.
You May Be Entitled to No-Fault Benefits
In Florida, drivers are required to purchase two types of insurance policy coverages: Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The minimum coverage for each of these is $10,000. PIP coverage is known as Florida’s no-fault insurance because it automatically applies benefits after a car accident, regardless of fault.
If you have an insurance policy with PIP coverage, you may file a claim with your own insurance to receive no-fault benefits as a passenger. In most situations, Florida citizens with no-fault insurance may receive benefits whether they are drivers, passengers, or pedestrians. As long as you have PIP coverage, you should be eligible to file a no-fault claim after a car accident.
Filing Claims for Serious and Permanent Injuries
Though many states have no-fault insurance laws, they do not prohibit your ability to file a claim for damages in all situations. In Florida, you may file a claim against an at-fault driver if the injuries you have suffered can be considered serious, catastrophic or “permanent.” This is known as the “injury threshold,” and serves to protect individuals who receive serious injuries that may not be covered by a regular PIP policy.
Examples of permanent injuries include:
- Significant loss of body function
- Brain injury
Not only is it illegal for individuals to drive in Florida without insurance, but your license could be suspended if you are caught driving without the minimum insurance requirements. In addition, uninsured drivers do not have access to their own PIP coverage, and may not be able to receive no-fault benefits from other drivers involved in an accident.
To protect yourself against the risks of getting into an accident with an uninsured driver, Florida insurance companies offer uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage may pay you additional benefits if you suffer injuries and damages in an accident with an uninsured driver. This may compensate for when the uninsured driver may not be able to cover the costs of your recovery.
Protecting Your Rights
You may not be driving the vehicle in a car accident, but you may still seek compensation for your injuries. PIP insurance coverage applies to drivers and passengers alike. Whether you have questions about no-fault insurance laws or you are considering your options, contact the lawyers at the Law Offices of Tragos, Sartes & Tragos. Our award-winning legal team has the knowledge and experience you may need to get compensation. When it comes to your health, ensure you receive the best chance at a full recovery.